Muesli to the Rescue!

I would like to introduce you to my latest breakfast best bud, muesli (mooz-lee). I stumbled across my first muesli recipe a few years back on a healthy living blog that was so overzealous it made plain old oatmeal sound like the breakfast of gluttons and sinners. Muesli is a Swiss creation (also popular in Germany) that is a meal of uncooked oats with dried fruits and nuts incorporated. Apparently this breakfast delight was the brainchild of a physician that needed a healthy option for his recovering hospital patients. Alas, necessity does really breed innovation.

Anyway, after reading the recipe, and a special trip to Whole Foods to buy the surprisingly lengthy list of ingredients, I followed the directions and made a batch. It was pretty tasty. I probably made three or four meals worth and enjoyed them all but then forgot the whole concept for some time. That is, until this week.

Let’s flashback to last week on Thanksgiving day. My husband and I went to his parents house for a Thanksgiving feast with some of his extended family. Nearly immediately on arriving, his cousin presented me with a package of Qi’a (a self proclaimed ‘superfood’ according to the package) knowing that I am a vegetarian and ostensibly the healthiest person she knows. She went on to say she tried it and it was really gross but after spending more than $10 on a 8oz package she didn’t want to toss it. Well I tried it Tuesday morning for breakfast, following the instructions:

Mix 2 tbsp. of cereal with 4-5 tbsp. of milk or milk substitute, stir; wait 5 minutes for the Chia seeds to soak and enjoy…

Well I was already skeptical, was this package suggesting that I eat 2 tablespoons of cereal for breakfast?! Clearly they don’t know me and my breakfast needs! Well, I followed the directions, mixed the perfect ratios, and ‘enjoyed it’ per the instructions (I will say it did expand a little but not into a full portion of breakfast cereal). I hate to say it, but it was not good. I love eating well. In fact, I have noticed that if I know something is good for me it automatically tastes better. This, despite it’s superfoody-ness, it’s high price tag, and the package boasting omegas and proteins and fiber (oh my!), I knew I still could not eat it again.

Enter muesli, my breakfast bff. Here’s what I have learned from my first muesli experience: you don’t need a fancy recipe or a trip to your local health food store. Muesli = oatmeal + whatever you want = delicious. So, now I have weird breakfast stuff that looks like bird seed and some raw oats in the cupboard. Well I combined a half cup of oats, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, one tablespoon of my Qi’a and a handful of raisins. I added about 1/4 cup of milk and let it sit for 5 minutes. Did I mention that I brought the oats and cinnamon to work and then mixed everything else at my desk while I checked my work email and got ready for the day? Right before I was ready to eat I topped it with 1 tablespoon of local honey (great for people with allergies) and voila! Yummy breakfast.

I recommend everyone try to mix up a quick bowl (or batch?!) next time you’re out of bagels or instant oatmeal packets. It’s great for the summertime (or even on warm winter mornings like we have here in Florida) because you eat it cold. It’s great on the go if you put it in a mason jar. It’s great with honey, agave, dried fruit, pepitas, almonds, flax-seed, etc.

Enjoy your muesli!

P.S. This is the weird stuff that was given to me (in hindsight I see you can sprinkle it on salads or in yogurt instead of soaking it in milk).

Image

Leave a Reply

