Running Errands

From time to time I run my errands and if I bump into someone I know in the midst of this activity they always seem so perplexed at what I’m doing. You see that’s because I like to run to my errands. It must be the excessive multi-tasker in me (I’m making breakfast as I write this post) but if I need to do two or more things in one block of time, I often like to combine those activities together. Example: Yesterday I wanted to go to the gym or exercise in the morning, but I also needed to return a DVD to the Redbox. Solution: Run to the Redbox with DVD in hand and then run home. My totally route was about 1.5 miles so it was a nice 15 minute jog through the neighborhood. While I understand that many people live in areas where “running errands” would require marathon distances just to get to the post office, I am sure that a good percentage of the U.S. population is capable of completing many errands on foot. Running errands doesn’t have to be just jogging or running but could also be walking or bicycling. How many times have you gone to the store just for one or two things (oh, forgot the toothpaste!)? These are wasted opportunities for some much needed exercise and a wonderful way to connect with your neighborhood. Of course, I am not suggesting that you “run” out for two 64 ounce bottles of laundry detergent or a 27 pound tub of kitty litter, that would be inconvenient and exhausting. However, next time you just need some stamps or to return your DVD, lace up those sneakers and take a healthier approach to getting the task done. Cheers!

P.S. May I recommend my favorite reusable shopping bag for when you run to your errands? It’s the Baby Baggu from this wonderful store, not only does it fold up to be about 4 inches square, it comes with a tiny pouch making it perfect for stashing in your pocket, your bra, your waistband, or even your shoe! Pretty cool right? 

Image

Leave a Reply

